Christianity in Crisis

June 4, 2009

Christianity in CrisisChristianity in Crisis: 21st Century written by Hank Hanegraaffis a reworking of a book he wrote 20 years ago in a effort to expose those whose teachings threaten to undermine the foundation of biblical faith.  As I read the introduction to this book, I wondered if this was going to be a book full of verbal darts thrown at those that Hanegraaff identifies as prosperity teachers (Joyce Meyer, T.D. Jakes, Joel Osteen, et al). I must admit that Hanegraaff grabbed my attention and I was listening. I must also admit that I have never read a book written by Joyce Meyer or Joel Osteen, who Hanegraaff seems to be building a case against, nor I have watch their TV programs or listened to their podcasts. It is worth noting that there are 70+ pages of bibliography and source references as Hanegraaff assures his readers that what he is “communicating is painstakingly accurate and assiduously documented.” I determined to approach this book with an open mind and a heart searching for truth.

Thomas Nelson has asked for complete honesty in our reviews, so that is what I will offer.  I was intrigued and somewhat astonished at the claims made early in this book and agreed that most of what was documented goes against my personal view from scripture.  I also agree that the claims made by these “prosperity” teachers are dangerous and even more concerning is the influence that these teachers have on thousands upon thousands of people who read their books, attend their churches, watch their tv shows, etc.  Hank has done a wonderful job of documenting his sources and his “proof” does seem very credible and reliable.  The Bible tells us that we are to “Test everything.  Hold on to the good.  Avoid every kind of evil.” (1 Thes. 5:21-22) and I think that each person has a responsibility to adhere to these instructions, especially when it comes to the foundations of our faith.  So in this respect, Crisis in Christianity: 21st Century offers a valuable resource for those who may question or doubt the validity of the claims made by these “prosperity” teachers.

The problem that I had with this book was that after the initial intrigue and astonishment, I grew weary of the same quotes or sources being referenced again and again to make either the same or similar points.  Although, as stated previously, these sources were “painstakingly” referenced and documented, it became tiresome to see the same sources being used again and again.  So much so that I honestly stopped reading after 195 pages and have yet to finish.

If you have questions about or are unfamiliar with the folks that Hank labels as “prosperity” teachers, this book offers a great resource for you to “test” for yourself.  Just be prepared that in my opinion it began to feel more like a text book .  I was satisfied with Hank’s arguments and agreed with him on the analysis made, I was ready for him to move forward and I felt like we got stuck.  Maybe I gave up too soon, and hopefully I will find the time and energy to finish this book, but for now the first 195 pages have convinced me that I am on firm ground in the foundations of my faith.

Leave a comment